Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer-review evaluation.

Over 79,000 leading attorneys globally are eligible to vote, and we have received more than 12 million votes to date on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific practice areas around the world. For the 2019 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America©, 6.7 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in more than 55,000 leading lawyers being included in the new edition. Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

FMS would like to congratulate the attorneys named to Best Lawyers® in the listed practice areas as well as two attorneys who received Lawyer of the Year Awards, Debra L. Fulton for Workers’ Compensation Law and Michael W. Ewell for Corporate Law.

Arthur G. Seymour, Jr.

  • Land Use and Zoning Law
  • Municipal Law
  • Personal Injury Litigations – Defendants

Robert L. Kahn

  • Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
  • Corporate Law

Reggie E. Keaton

  • Commercial Litigation
  • Construction Law
  • Corporate Law
  • Litigation – Construction

Donald D. Howell

  • Insurance Law
  • Litigation – Insurance, “Lawyer of the Year Award” for Knoxville
  • Personal Injury Litigations – Defendants
  • Product Liability Litigation – Defendants

Debra L. Fulton

  • Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers (Lawyer of the Year Award)

Michael W. Ewell

  • Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Corporate Law (Lawyer of the Year Award)
  • Litigation – Bankruptcy

James E. Wagner

  • Mass Tort Litigation / Class Action – Defendants
  • Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants

Mary Elizabeth Maddox

  • Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Workers’ Compensation – Claimants
  • Workers’ Compensation – Employers